Deviled Eggs

I recently came around to hard boiled eggs and I think their best incarnation is as Deviled Eggs. At church potlucks, I always avoided these room temperature, squishy little devils. Now I think that hard boiled eggs provide a perfectly white canvas for any brilliant flavors that you want to spread on.

Since this was my first attempt at deviled eggs, I wanted to stick to fairly traditional flavors. I did a couple of things to take it up a notch — I used smoked paprika instead of regular paprika and then threw in bacon and green onion for good measure. I wanted them to look as amazing as they tasted, so I used an icing bag to fill the whites with the yolks. I was afraid that the bacon and onion would clog the pastry bag, so I sprinkled some of them under the yolks and some over the yolks.

Deviled Eggs can also be more casual if you are, say, going to a friend’s house to watch TV. For these eggs, I added cilantro and lime juice to the yolks. They were a little too creamy (I felt obligated to use the full two tablespoons of mayo I borrowed from a neighbor), but great for a weeknight indulgence. I just used a spoon to stuff the yolks into the whites.

I can’t tell you what measurements I used for either of these batches, but I’ll tell you what I’m going to do the next time I devil and egg.

Hard boil it. Put the eggs in a saucepan filled with water. Turn on the heat and bring the water (with eggs) to a boil. Once boiling, cover and remove from heat and let stand. Remove the eggs from the hot water after nine minutes and cool immediately in ice water.

Peel, halve, and remove the yolks from the eggs. Mash up the yolks with a fork. Add about half as much mayonnaise as you have yolks. Add about half as much mustard (or other sour liquid) as you have mayonnaise. Stir it up to see if you like the consistency. Add more mayo until it is your desired creaminess.

Add some flavor. Traditional deviled eggs are made with paprika and cayenne. I think it’s good to add fresh garlic, some kind of onion, a green leafy herb, and maybe some bacon.

Taste as you go. If you can’t stand licking the creamy yolks off of your finger, get a cracker to scoop them up. Once the mixture tastes good to you, plop it into the hollows of the white. It will always seem like you won’t have enough, but you’ll always have extra.

One thought on “Deviled Eggs

  1. I’ve come around on a lot of food as an adult, but deviled eggs still make me want to vomit. Even your fancy looking, delicious tasting eggs. Ugh. Where’s the mouthwash?

Leave a Reply

