Party Food II: Mini Zucchini and Goat Cheese Tarts

These Mini Zucchini and Goat Cheese Tarts should have been the first part of my party food series. I’m afraid that, like our party guests, none of you will give any of these a shot after seeing those meatballs (until you see these babies, which is why I’m saving them for later in the week). I don’t know why these weren’t a bigger hit at the party — they tasted as fabulous as they looked.

The recipe calls for lemon thyme, which I’ve never had and, of course, Harris Teeter doesn’t sell. So Glenn and I used regular thyme and a few squeezes of lemon juice instead. Next time I’ll use a whole lot more lemon juice and maybe some zest, too, to give it a little more punch.

Instead of buying refrigerated pie crust, we made a batch from scratch (enough for two nine-inch crusts, but we used it all). I didn’t have the appropriate sized cookie/biscuit cutter so, after trying several circular objects, I used the mouth of my .5 liter Nalgene. To my surprise (and relief) I didn’t get a single crust stuck inside the bottle.

The recipe called for 2 1/2 pounds of zucchini, but after reading both Project Recipe posts (two bloggers cook their way through Bon Appetit’s top 100 dishes), I decided to get just one zucchini. I used every last slice of my one zucchini and could have used half as much more.

My zucchini folding wouldn’t compete with Bon Appetit, but I think I have both of their bloggers beat by a long shot. See Exhibits A and B. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Party Food II: Mini Zucchini and Goat Cheese Tarts

  1. Another tasty looking dish. I wish I could come to your parties. =) As for the folding…you certainly have done a better job that exhibit B. Maybe a tie with A. Is it hard?

    • A tie with A?! Maybe I just didn’t like her photo…

      The folding is easier the thinner the zucchini is sliced. The hard part is cutting your zucchini paper thin. I think that’s the problem the Project Recipe bloggers had — they both used a mandolin and their slices came out too thick.

Leave a Reply

