Roasted Beet Risotto

This looks like something you don’t want to eat — and it’s not just the bad photography. Generally, food should not be pink. It should not be a homogeneous blob. I don’t know what possessed me to make this Roasted Beet Risotto the first time, but it turned out to be some of the best food that’s come out of my kitchen. It’s rich and creamy, as any risotto should be, but it’s also earthy and hearty.

Last week, when I was making pan after pan of stuffing, Glenn went about the tedious task of stirring and simmering this amazing stuff. In the past, we haven’t been able to find arborio rice at Harris Teeter, so we’ve used medium grain rice and that’s worked fine. But we used arborio this time and it makes a big, big difference. Wow. It was so distractingly delicious that it almost brought the stuffing project to an end.

I think I still have some of this in my fridge and I can’t wait to get back to North Carolina and eat it. I don’t care if it’s ten days old.

Leave a Reply

